Meet Our Leadership Team

Our senior leadership team includes a team with a vast array of experience. Our comprehensive approach brings together psychiatrists, psychologists, specialized pediatricians, counselors, administrative experts, social workers and nurses to help with every aspect of center management. Our team is committed to creating an environment of innovation and collaboration. We are dedicated to providing transparency and accountability in everything we do—building a foundation of trust for our clients, brokers, members and providers.

  • Roger Williams

    Executive Director

    Executive Director at the Spartanburg Area Mental Health Center. Roger joined Spartanburg in March of 2018 after being in Deaf Services with the Department of Mental Health for 28 years, working at Patrick Harris Hospital, Piedmont Center for Mental Health Services and then as the Director of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing for the last decade.

  • Ebony Gaffney, M.D.

    Medical Director

    Dr. Gaffney is a board-certified Psychiatrist and an American Psychiatric Association Fellow. Dr. Gaffney holds a PhD in Public Health and a MBA in Health Administration. Her psychiatric training was completed at Morehouse School of Medicine. Dr. Gaffney’s interests include working with the faith-based communities, women’s health, and academic psychiatry.

  • Jeffrey Greene

    Chief of Staff

    Jeff attended Ohio University, majoring in Criminal Justice, served in the United States Air Force and spent 26 years in law enforcement, retiring from the Ohio State Highway Patrol as the Assistant District Commander. Additionally, he served as the Executive Director for the Ohio State Board of Optometry. Jeff Joined the Department of Mental Health in 2018.

  • Deana Kerr

    Human Resource Manager

    Deana has worked with Department of Mental Health for almost 24 years. She started at the Union Office alongside the Office Manager. In October, 1998 She was promoted and moved to the Spartanburg office in HR as Human Resource Specialist. In April, 2011, she was promoted to Human Resource Manager and still continues her role as Benefits Administrator.

  • Kristin James

    Clinic Director – Spartanburg Clinic

    Kristin is currently the Spartanburg Clinic Director. She has been with the Department of Mental Health since 2001. Kristin is a Licensed Professional Counselor, and holds two master’s degrees: One from UNC – Chapel Hill in Rehabilitation Psychology and a Master’s in Public Health (concentration in Emergency Management) from American Military University.

  • Gary Moneypenny

    Clinic Director – Union Clinic

    Gary is the Clinic Director at Union Mental Health Clinic. He has been with the Department of Mental Health since 1992, and has worked in a variety of positions. Gary is a Licensed Marriage and Family therapist and is dedicated to increasing services within Union county.

  • Freda Miller

    Clinic Director – Cherokee Clinic

    Freda is the Cherokee Mental Health Clinic Director. She started with the department at the Spartanburg Clinic in 1993 working in Adult Services. She was the Adult Services Director at the Spartanburg Clinic. She has a Master’s Degree in Educational Psychology from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. She is a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Licensed Addictions Counselor.

  • Tamer Elshennawy

    IT consultant – Chief of Finance

    Tamer is our Systems Administrator and IT Specialist. Tamer has 15 years’ experience in network administration, network performance tuning, LAN knowledge, network Design and implementation, problem solving, strategic planning, multi-tasking, quality Focus, coordination, technical understanding. Tamer Joined the SAMHC family in December, 2018.