Meet Our Board Members

The Spartanburg Area Mental Health Center (SAMHC) has an advisory board, with 9 to 15 members, including at least one medical doctor. SAMHC board members meet monthly. Board members were encouraged to look for opportunities to advocate for mental health services and solicit support from their local County governments. During Resource Acquisition Initiative (RAI) training, board members were given information and tips to facilitate advocacy efforts. After receiving RAI training, Center boards hosted informational meetings for County Council members to strengthen community relationships and foster collaboration.The Board leadership feels one of its essential roles is to keep state legislators current with regard to mental health issues. As such, they invite legislators to monthly Board meetings

  • Reverend Dewitt Clyde


    Reverend Dewitt Clyde has been a Board member since the 1980‟s, has served as chair for more than 10 years. He holds a bachelor's degree in Psychology, and his early work as pastor of a Philadelphia Church unlocked a natural progression from ministry to Mental Health.

  • Hal Warlick


    At Reverend Clyde’s side is Vice-Chair Hal Warlick who has been a Board member for 15 years. Warlick earned a degree in Sociology from the University of Tennessee and became interested in mental health while studying at Eastern State Hospital in Knoxville.

  • Jennie Montgomery


    Jennie has BA degree from Guilford College; MSW from UNC; Work Hx; VA Hospital, Salisbury, NC; Spartanburg MHC & S.C. Dept. of Mental Health. Widowed; Three children & eight grandchildren. Loves music, traveling, antiques, sports. Active volunteer in community.

  • Laura Hooks

    Board Member

    Dr. Laura M. Hooks served as an adjunct instructor at USC Upstate for six years prior to becoming a full-time member of the faculty in 2001. She received her B.A. in Early Childhood Education from the University of South Carolina. Her Ph.D. was earned at USC Upstate.

  • Daniel O'Shields

    Board Member

    Daniel is a retired psychotherapist. He retired from the University of South Carolina with a Ph.D. in Counseling Education and has worked in his home state of South Carolina, in Colorado, and in Utah. Daniel also is on the Board of Union Cancer Service.

  • Cathy Sparks

    Board Member

    Dr. Sparks is an Adjunct Professor in the Marriage and Family Therapy Program and the Post-Degree Institute Director at WGTCN. She has a BS in Psychology, a M.Ed. in Counseling, an Ed.S. in Counseling, an Ed.S. in Marriage and Family Therapy.

  • Jane McCall, M.D.

    Board Member

    Dr. Jane McCall graduated from Duke University and Jefferson Medical College. After completing an Emergency Medicine Residency at Richland Memorial Hospital in Columbia, SC, she practiced in the Upstate for 30 years and is recently retired.

  • William Rochester

    Board Member

    Graduated from the University of South Carolina with a B.A. in Education. William has served in the Navy on the USS Francis Scott Key. Worked as a nuclear quality assurance engineer. William is currently an active board member of the Union County Carnegie Library.

  • Cecilia Cogdell

    Board Member

    Cecilia is a retired educator from the University of South Carolina-Upstate, currently professor emerita. Cecilia had a Master’s Degree in Nursing (MN) and specialized in Psychiatric Community Mental Health Nursing. Cecilia has been a South Carolina residence for 45 years.

  • Gayle Singletary

    Board Member

    Gayle is the Past president of Spartanburg Co. Medical Society Auxiliary. Gayle Received Master of Social Work degree from UNC-Chapel Hill. Former staff member (MSW) of Spartanburg Area Mental Health Center.Gayle has been South Carolina resident for over 43 years.

  • Carey Rothschild

    Board Member

    Carey Rothschild is the Director of Community Health Policy and Strategy for Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System. Her work is focused on developing the strategic direction and oversight of the Community Health department of SRHS.

  • Robert Usry

    Board Member

    Rob Usry has lived in South Carolina all his life, graduating Wofford College in 1996 and later University of South Carolina in 2000. His law degree first transitioned into work as a law clerk for a state circuit court judge in Barnwell for one year before practicing law in Easley.